This Is It 2009

Michael Jackson’s This Is It is a 2009 American concert film documenting Michael Jackson’s rehearsals of the concert series of the same name, both on stage and behind the scenes. The film will comprise of Jackson mentoring his team for the 50 shows, as well as him creating, developing and ultimately staging the high-tech performances. The footage was filmed at The Forum and the Staples Center in Los Angeles. It is set for worldwide theatrical release on October 28, 2009 with a limited two-week run. Tickets go on sale a month early, on September 27, 2009 to satisfy a high anticipated demand.

On August 10, 2009, Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Mitchell Beckloff approved a deal between Michael Jackson’s estate, concert promoter AEG Live and Sony Pictures. This allows Sony Pictures to edit hundreds of hours of rehearsal footage, to create a motion picture. Sony paid $60 million for the film rights. The film will contain behind the scenes footage of Jackson backstage, on stage and directing his team as he created his fifty shows. It will also contain interviews with friends of Jackson and 3-D sequences originally filmed as part of the concert performance. Candid and private scenes involving Jackson and his crew have been confirmed. The trailer was first premiered during the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards on September 13 2009, along with the simultaneous launching of the official movie website.

* Lead vocalist and dancer: Michael Jackson
* Keyboards: Michael Bearden, Morris Pleasure
* Lead guitar: Orianthi Panagaris
* Rhythm guitar: Thomas Organ
* Bass: Alfred Dunbar
* Percussion: Roger Bashiri Johnson
* Drums: Jonathan Moffett

Watch This Is It 2009 Trailer