The Five Heartbeats 1991

The Five Heartbeats is a musical drama film directed by Robert Townsend, who co-wrote the script with Keenan Ivory Wayans.

Distributed by 20th Century Fox, the film’s main cast includes Townsend, Michael Wright, Leon Robinson, Harry J. Lennix, Tico Wells, Harold Nicholas of the Nicholas Brothers, and Diahann Carroll.

The plot of the film (which is loosely based on the lives of several artists; The Dells, The Temptations, Frankie Lymon, Sam Cooke and others) follows the three decade career of the fictional band The Five Heartbeats. The film depicts the rise and fall of a Motown inspired soul acts through the eyes of the film’s main protagonist Donald “Duck” Matthews (portrayed by Townsend), who serves as a narrator throughout the film although a majority of the cinema is presented in a consecutive time line as opposed to traditional flash backs.

Watch The Five Heartbeats 1991 Trailer