St. Trinian’s 2009

St Trinian’s is the sixth in a long-running series of films based on the works of cartoonist Ronald Searle. The first four films form a series, starting with The Belles of St Trinian’s in 1954, with sequels in 1957, 1960, 1966 and 1980. The 2007 release, coming 27 years after the last entry, and 53 years after the first film, is a rebooting of the franchise, rather than a direct sequel, with certain plot elements borrowed from the first movie.

Plot: St Trinians proudly continues to represent the unacceptable face of British education. When the new Minister of Education announces he will personally sort the place out he doesn’t realise either the enormity of the task or that the headmistress is an old flame. The school is anyway threatened with closure by their bank; with the staff clearly a waste of space the girls realise the responsibility to save the day falls on them. Perhaps a painting popularised by Scarlett Johansson might be the way out?

* Talulah Riley – Annabelle Fritton
* Rupert Everett – Camilla Fritton / Carnaby Fritton
* Jodie Whittaker – Beverly
* Gemma Arterton – Kelly
* Kathryn Drysdale – Taylor
* Juno Temple – Celia

Watch St. Trinian’s 2009 Trailer