One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest 1975

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is an American 1975 drama film directed by MiloŇ° Forman. The film is an adaptation of the 1962 novel One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. The movie was the first to win all five major Academy Awards

(Best Picture, Actor in Lead Role, Actress in Lead Role, Director, Screenplay) since It Happened One Night in 1934, an accomplishment not repeated until 1991, by The Silence of the Lambs. There had been an earlier stage version of the book, in 1963, but the film does not use the script of the stage version. The movie was filmed at Oregon State Hospital in Salem, Oregon, which was the setting of the novel.

Plot: R. P. McMurphy (Jack Nicholson) has been ordered into the local psychiatric hospital from prison to undergo evaluation to determine if he truly has mental problems or if he is simply a behavioral problem. Once McMurphy gets into the hospital, he meets the other patients and he quickly tries to make light of his situation by his constant joking and flaunting of authority. The authority in this case is the stern Nurse Ratched (Louise Fletcher) who views McMurphy as a special case that only she may be able to tame. McMurphy inserts himself into the group of crazies (played by Brad Dourif, Danny Devito and Vincent Schiavelli among others) and tries to confuse just who is crazy and who is not. The impish actions McMurphy takes ultimately seems to do as much harm as it does good, and his challenging nature may not be enough to change the prevailing authority.
Academy Awards
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest won all of the “Big Five” Academy Awards at the 48th Oscar ceremony
* Academy Award for Best Picture – Michael Douglas, Saul Zaentz
* Academy Award for Best Director – MiloŇ° Forman
* Academy Award for Best Actor – Jack Nicholson
* Academy Award for Best Actress – Louise Fletcher
* Academy Award for Writing Adapted Screenplay – Laurence Hauben, Bo Goldman
It was nominated for an additional four
* Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor – Brad Dourif
* Academy Award for Best Cinematography – Haskell Wexler, Bill Butler
* Academy Award for Film Editing – Richard Chew, Lyzee Klingman, Sheldon Kahn
* Academy Award for Original Music Score – Jack Nitzshe

Watch One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest 1975 Trailer